Green Book Information  





The Norfolk and Suffolk Yachting Association Inter-Club Championship Trophy was presented by
LR Ramuz in 1950. A different class of yacht and a different venue is chosen by the NSBA each
year. The trophy may be competed for by any organisation affiliated to the NSBA, but that
organisation may enter only one team which is expected to consist of its best sailors.

Recent Winners









 C Bunn, G Bunn





 R Whitefoot, R Dugdale





 I Tims, P Reeve





 I Tims, P Reeve





 C Bunn, N Spanton




 Access 303s

 R Smith, B Freeman





 R Smith, V Falat





 R Smith, A Prime





 D Mackley, K Mackley



Every year since its centenary in 1994, the NSBA has held a regatta for sailors under 19 belonging to its affiliated clubs. It now has three trophies to award. The Centenary Salver, the original trophy at the regatta, was given to the NSBA by its then President, Sam Hornor. It is presented to the most successful club team. The Lady Mayhew Trophy, presented by the Broads Society in 1995 in memory of Lady Mayhew, is awarded to the competitor who ‘has applied great effort and has shown the spirit of sport, determination and fun without necessarily achieving a top finishing position’. In 2010 a new cup was presented to the NSBA by Anne Whelpton in memory of her husband, Tim, for award to the most successful double-handed crew at the regatta.

BYR trophies in 2014 were awarded to:
Beccles Amateur Sailing Club (Centenary Salver)
Elske Wilton (Lady Mayhew Trophy)
Billy Johnson and Katie Davies (Whelpton Cup)


NSBA is honoured to have had presented to it by Anne Whelpton, widow of yachtsman and boatbuilder, Tim Whelpton, a specially commissioned trophy in Tim's memory. The trophy was designed by Andrew Anderson and crafted by Tim’s godson, Peter Tillett. This piece of silver sculpture, which depicts the spirit of speed sailing, will be awarded by the NSBA to an under 25-year-old young sailor who is considered to have achieved excellence either at national or international level.
Tim himself, as a young Broads sailor, achieved excellence at international level in the International Star class. He won the Olympic Trials at Lowestoft for the 1956 Melbourne Olympic Games but was not chosen to represent GB because of his relative youth. The trophy’s design echoes that of the Crossbow asymmetric catamarans, in which Sir Timothy Colman held the World Sailing Speed record for 14 years (reaching 36 knots); Tim was a key crew member. The Eastwood Whelpton yard was involved with both boats - a new outrigger hull was built there for Crossbow 1 and the yard completely built Crossbow 2 to a different design.
The trophy was ‘presented to encourage young sailors and commemorate the life of an outstanding yachtsman’.

The Tim Whelpton Trophy is presented at the NSBA’s AGM. The first award was made in 2011 to Georgina Povall of Hickling Broad Sailing Club. The second award in 2012 was to Flip Foulds of Norfolk Broads Yacht Club. In 2013 the Trophy was awarded to Bryony Bennett-Lloyd of Hickling Broad Sailing Club. In 2014 the Trophy was awarded to Carol Dugdale of Norfolk Broads Yacht Club.

The Martin Broom Memorial Trophy

All who knew Martin Broom were saddened by his death in 2013. Martin will go down in Broads history as a wise, unassuming and tireless worker for boating on the Broads. His record for contribution to the administration and well-being of boating is without equal. The NSBA now each year offers to award a trophy in Martin's name for an outstanding contribution to Broads’ boating. For this purpose, ‘outstanding contribution to Broads boating’ is not limited to any particular context. It could, for example, be awarded on the basis of work behind the scenes, contribution in the commercial boating sector, contribution to training, or a combination of such things.

The Trophy can be awarded to an individual, a group of individuals or an organisation. Nominations must be made either by an affiliated club or organisation of the NSBA or by two individual members of the NSBA. The nomination must be in writing. It must state why the nomination is being made and include factual information in support. The closing date for nominations is 30 September in any year. The nomination must reach the Hon Administrator (e-mail: by 1159 hrs on that day. The full set of rules relating to the Trophy can be downloaded here.

The finely-crafted presentation case is the work of Lorne Betts. The silverware, all of which had been won by Martin at regattas and races across the Broads, was donated by Jennifer Broom. Others willingly made contributions to the final product.

The trophy was awarded in 2014 to the Nancy Oldfield Trust. For the last 30 years, the Trust has provided opportunities for disabled and disadvantaged people to get out onto the water and enjoy being in boats, sailing, canoeing and the like. The Trust runs daily activities from its headquarters at Neatishead, making use of its pontoon base on Barton Broad and moorings at Ludham Bridge. It also has specially adapted residential accommodation at its HQ.